UCFD Rate Payers Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, May 1, 2018 – 7:00 p.m.

Fire Hall, Cherry Hill, NS

Present: M.M. Campbell, Cleveland Conrad, Mary Hubley, Charles Teal, Harry Smith, Mary Deana Smith, Darlene R. Conrad, Eugene Hynick, Shawn Slauenwhite, Eric Hustvedt, Wayne Smith, Barry Smith, Larry Blackler, Max Slauenwhite, Chris Tumblin, Granville Tumblin, D.M. Porteous, Lorna Jorgensen, Ken Morrison, Terry Hayward, Melda Conrad,

- (1) Meeting called to order at 7:00 p.m. Approval of Agenda
- (2) Moment of silence was held for all deceased firemen
- (3) Minutes of the Rate Payers Meeting; Read by Margaret Campbell, seconded by Larry Blackler, hearing no errors or omissions; carried unanimously
- (4) Greetings from MODL
- (5) Financial report:

*See full report attached to original Minutes;
*fundraising revenue generated for 2017-18 = \$43,356.16
*Purchase rebate HST rebate = \$20,845.28

*Budget for fiscal year 2018-2019

- *2017-18 total \$101.043.37
- *Actual total \$79,744.51
- *2018-19 projected \$86,277.61

Budget was moved by Wayne Smith moved seconded by Harry Smithcarried

(6) Wayne read the UCFD Fire Chief's report - 01, 2017 - May 31, 2018

(6) Fire calls, 3
 Medical calls 21
 Mutual aid calls 6
 Motor vehicle accidents - 8

(7) YAH report- Wayne Smith

*\$1,900.00 on hand to support Local and social events

- * many social activities
- * Thank UCFD for use of the Hall

New Business:

(8) MODL

Eric Hustvedt

- * Greetings from Mayor and Council
- * Commended officers, membership and volunteer community,
- * MODL Chris Kennedy fire services coordinator Liaison officer
- *Chris will collaborate with securing insurance costs
- * Congratulations for the pay-off the truck loan

Truck purchase update:

66,000.00 last year - paid off two months ago March 22, 2018

- * We may need a rescue vehicle diesel truck securing quotes
- * Long range planning, due to the average life of a truck is 20 years.

* It was suggested that a new truck account be established in preparation for the eventual need – agreed

Nomination for three Commission Positions:

Position #1 Cleveland Conrad, nominated by Ken Morrison nominated, seconded by Wayne - nominations cease - yes or no - 19 yes, 2 no

- Cleveland Conrad elected

Position #2 - Wayne nominated by Terry – Eugene nominated Shawn – Melda Conrad nominated Chris –

- Wayne Smith 12 Elected – Shawn 4 – Chris 3

Position #3 - Dave nominated Barry Eugene nominated Shawn Melda Conrad nominated Chris Barry 10. Sean 5. Chris 3 –

- Barry Smith elected

Note: For 2018-19, names of Eugene Hynick, Terry Hayward and Harry Smith will be on the agenda for the 2019 Rate Payers meeting.

Barry Smith stated that a Fire extinguisher should be placed - *one by the front door, * furnace, * kitchen and *each exit

Eugene Hynick moved, Dave Porteous seconded, that the meeting be adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

Respectively recorded by Margaret Campbell, "Ad hoc" Secretary

-0-